Views

By Melany Watts

Admiring you the way an artist to a piece

Unraveling your every structure

Yes I was watching you

Book held up tightly clenched by

 Your smooth caramel hands

Nose twitching to the horrid

Details watch the book in lies

 

Yes I was watching you

Wondering if you notice me not trying to notice you

Is it obvious when you give my body attention

I leave it unnoticed

You have me in shackles

When I look up to see you smiling at me

 

Yes I was watching you

Oftentimes I try to study you yet un-researched

Until the next time you decide to approach me

 

Yes I was watching you

When you entered the room

My personal song beating in my chest

Waiting….. for you to put the headphones in

 

Yes I was watching you

My body becomes active when you log onto my eyes

God cursed for the prevailing screens you called humans

From blocking your beauty

 

Yes I was watching you

Cheeks high risen

Voice soft and warm

Welcoming to my reply

 

Yes I was watching you

watching my easy red face

thinking what I could possibly say to interest you

to talk to a youngin’ like me

 

Yes I was watching you

Too much time waste in awkward silence

Wondering what you think of me

Or if I’m thought of at all

Times I wanted to execute a conversation

But felt restricted to what I can have

 

Yes I was watching you

Watching somebody else

Could never be worked up over someone I never pursued

A book left unopened

How can I get so worked up to someone I talked to

Compared to the number of times on my short stubby fingers

 

Yes I was watching you

Your mature figure a masterpiece in the making

Pink rose colour lips,

Eyes that cut through me like a knife

Hair silky and colourful like flowers in the springtime

 

Yes I was watching you

And frankly, how can I deny myself so much pleasure

Based on principle from a book

I could never meet the author  to

Your faced fogged out a memory I cannot even imagine

 

Yes I was watching you

Speak your word you interpret so clearly

And me accepting them so fluently into my vocabulary

You’re a four-dimensional person

And I can barely handle the surface

 

Yes I was watching

Yes  you lived more days in the unremembered adolescent stage

But I’ve been told I’m more mature

Than the people my age

 

Yes I was watching you

But I’m ignoring the uptight male

Specimen prolonging my reply for a rather

Sweeter dessert

 

Yes I was watching you

But can you look beyond the page

To see I am scared to

Dive into the deep

End

 

Yes I was watching you

But I don’t look like my words

 

A note from the writer: Thanks for reading. I’m not a poet just decided to go for it, trying something new.

This poem was inspired by James Baldwin’s love poem, “Munich, Winter 1973 (To Y.S.),” from our unit on sexuality.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

